Drifblim from Plasma Blast

Drifblim (Plasma Blast PLB 35)

Text // Rating: 88% // Proxies // Rulings // Discussion: 6

– Psychic – 100 HP
Stage 1 – Evolves from Drifloon

Ability: Drifting Balloon
This Pokémon’s attacks cost [C] less for each of your opponent’s Team Plasma Pokémon in play.

[C][C][C] Derail: 70 damage. Discard a Special Energy attached to the Defending Pokémon.

Weakness: Darkness ×2
Resistance: none
Retreat Cost: 0

– 35/101 – Rare

They carry people and Pokémon, but the wind can catch them, so there can’t be a fixed destination.

Cumulative Rating: 87.61% (113 impressions)

Set and Format Breakdown:

  • Plasma Blast: 100.00% (2 impressions)
  • BCR-on (Standard 2015): n/a (0 impressions)
  • BLW-on (Expanded 2015): n/a (0 impressions)
  • BLW-on (Expanded 2016): n/a (0 impressions)
  • NXD-on: 100.00% (12 impressions)

Please log in or register if you would like to help rate this card.

How many proxies would you like to print?

View Proxies

Clear Proxies

  • Curtis

    Is Drifting Balloon effected by Celebi EX’s Time Recall? If so, that would mean Drifblim could hit the active for 70 or snipe for 40 for zero energy. Gee, where have I seen that before?

    • skyshaymin49

      Maybe a certain Yanmega Prime? Maybe?

      • skyshaymin49

        And yes, I think it would allow you to reduce Wind blast’s cost. Celebi basically just adds the attacks to the evolved Pokémon, but don’t quote me on that.

        • Curtis

          The only thing in this scenario that has me on the ropes is that Mew EX cannot access attacks from preevs, even with Celebi in play. Same goes for moves that copy your opponents move. The thing that could make different is the fact that I’m unsure if this ability only counts for Derail, or any attack it can use.

          • Feyblade

            I think the key distinction is the fact that Celebi states that Pokemon “can use” the attacks of the cards they have evolved from. It does not say that they possess them, but rather that they merely can use them. While one might argue that the relevant phrase in the Celebi/Mew ruling is the “in play” on Mew EX, this is not the case: other rulings corroborate the conclusion that “can use” =/= “Possesses.”

            Sadly,the power will not apply to its pre-evolution’s abilities. On another note, this also means that ,were a pokemon with some form of move that copies an opponent’s move(energy cost included) to SOMEHOW acquire this pokemon’s abilities, it would not be able to benefit from the power, either

          • skyshaymin49

            If Celebi made Wind Blast cost less, that would be a decent strategy. 4 problems though. 1)110 HP EX’s are easy targets 2)Not everyone plays Plasma 3) Those who aren’t are playing Garbodor, which makes Celebi and Drifblim useless and 4) It’s not how it works. :(