- ↓ 0.34
- ꩜ 0.66
- ↑ 2.15
Trainer › Pokémon Tool · is: Berry
When the Pokémon Balloon Berry is attached to retreats, discard Balloon Berry instead of discarding Energy cards.
· Pokémon Tool rule: Attach Balloon Berry to 1 of your Pokémon that doesn’t have a Pokémon Tool attached to it.
illus. Keiji Kinebuchi
External: Bulba ↗ · Shop: TCGplayer ↗, cardmarket ↗, eBay ↗
For all the wise guys out there…
NO, you cannot search for this using Apricorn Maker.
Nor can you use The Boss’s Way to search out a Darkrai. That is, unless there’s ever a Dark Darkrai.
Tokiwa City Smuggle
And special Darkness energy can only work with dark type Pokemon, and not Pokemon with “Dark” in its name. If it’s a Pokemon with “Dark” in its name, they’ll receive the same penalty that any non-dark type Pokemon would receive from using a special darkness energy.
Not sure how this is anything but confusing. Not only because we have a Basic Energy card and a Special Energy card each called “Darkness Energy”, but because the effects of the latter have changed over the years. To the point that, even in the Unlimited Format, any printing from before DP – Mysterious Treasures 119/123 isn’t legal to play, because their wording differs substantially from the most recent release of Darkness Energy, which is Call of Legends 86/95.
There is no penalty for non-Darkness Pokémon using these versions of Darkness Energy, they just don’t get the same damage bonus provided to [D] Pokémon. Whether they have the word “Dark” or the letters “d-a-r-k” in their name does not matter.
If you choose to use older printings of the Special Energy version of Darkness Energy, they all expressly state their effects work with [D] Pokémon or those with “Dark” in their name. The oldest two printings provide their damage bonus to any Pokémon, but will place damage counters on the Pokémon to which they are attached if it isn’t a [D] Type or doesn’t have “Dark” in its name. Beyond that but before the current wording, the damage bonus only applied to [D] Pokémon or those with “Dark” in their names, and the damage counter placing effect was completely removed.
The Boss’s Way states it may only fetch an Evolution card from your deck. No Darkrai card has ever been released as an Evolution, only as a Basic or a Level-Up card. So this was never an issue in the first place. ;)
Let me distill it into a general ruling. I’ll reply directly to some specific comments to clarify where some of the above comments got something wrong, or the very least, posted something confusing. XP
When an effect refers to a card’s name, whether the entire name or just part of it, the effect means it. If the letters from the specified term are in the name, but are in the wrong order, part of another word, etc. then they do not count! When such an effect allows variations, it is worded as such, like Falinks’ Team Attack or Falinks V’s Iron Defense Formation.